RSS Feed

Sea glass

Posted on

On my window sill is a small bottle filled with water and the sea glass I’ve collected on the local beaches. The sun shines through the shards of glass in a beautiful medley of sparkling clear, soft green, aqua, brown and even a rare cobalt blue. Each piece has been tumbled and smoothed by water and sand before it washes up on the shore.

For the past three years, I’ve felt like a piece of precious sea glass, roughed up by the harsh sands of change, whirled through waves of disappointment. The loss of a job I’d had for thirty years, upheaval within my church family, delays as I work toward my writing goals. I wish I could say my faith has been strong and unwavering the entire time. But like any child, I’ve had less than stellar moments, approaching my Heavenly Father whining and crying, ‘no fair’.  With an abundance of mercy and grace, He’s lovingly held me through the tumbles I’ve taken.

Clinging to His promises, I’ll continue to wait and trust, knowing He’s smoothing my broken jagged edges and making me into someone more precious and rare than I would be if left in my natural state.

“The Lord will fulfill his purpose for me; your love, O Lord, endures forever. Do not abandon the works of your hands.”

Psalm 138:8

About anitakgreene

I write romantic adventure for the inspirational market. I enjoy needlework, papercrafting and gardening. I'm at home in the Ocean State with my husband, son and a spoiled Belgian Malinois.

Leave a Reply

