RSS Feed

Praying in Color

Posted on

I read Sybil MacBeth’s book, Praying in Color – Drawing a New Path to God  at the end of 2010. Because my quiet time is very early in the morning, I found myself drifting into an early morning nap instead of praying. I needed a change to make my prayer time fresh and vital. Sybil’s book appealed to my creative nature.

New Year's Prayer

A black and white composition notebook is my prayer journal. I use a black gel pen and colored pencils. I like their soft colors and I already had them in the house (by the gazillion). I also use the opposite page to record bible verses, thoughts and revelations that come during prayer time.

You don’t need artistic talent to enjoy this prayer form. The idea is to be fully engaged in praying. I consider my finished product not only a visual record of my prayer, but an offering to God. Once again, I’m a small child giving my loving parent a picture, sharing with Him my thoughts as I scribble and color.

Has your prayer time ever felt stale? What have you done to change that? I’d love to hear from you.

Praying for Family

About anitakgreene

I write romantic adventure for the inspirational market. I enjoy needlework, papercrafting and gardening. I'm at home in the Ocean State with my husband, son and a spoiled Belgian Malinois.

Leave a Reply

