RSS Feed

Meet Helpful Harry


This digest size black and white booklet was given to my Aunt Yvonne by her sister, my Aunt Alsetia. Though there is no publication date inside, the cartoon pictures scattered throughout have the early 1950’s look.

A far cry from Martha Stewart’s Homekeeping Handbook, the booklet is filled with housekeeping hints delivered in corny prose. Sometimes ‘Harry’ sounds condescending, and other times just plain silly. I roll my eyes and giggle my way through this booklet. It’s a product of its time. The charm lies in the marks my Aunt Yvonne made next to several entries. She obviously liked some of the tips ‘Harry’ shared.


Excerpt:

Here’s one that’s tough, on the ant and I don’t mean Aunt Minnie – I mean A-N-T, ant. I know one gal on our street who goes berserk about the thing – utterly ruthless. Goes running to the corner drug store and says “Gimme some plaster of paris” – runs all the way home, mixes that plaster of paris with as much sugar – spreads it around the house and sits down with murder in her eyes. Know what happens? Those ants gourmandize (which is highfalutin for over-eatin’) – the plaster of paris hardens in their tummies and they take a short cut to Heaven, or elsewhere, depending on the kind of life they’ve led.

I’ll share more of Harry’s tips in the future.

About anitakgreene

I write romantic adventure for the inspirational market. I enjoy needlework, papercrafting and gardening. I'm at home in the Ocean State with my husband, son and a spoiled Belgian Malinois.

5 responses »

  1. I miss Aunt Yvonne – thanks for fun memories!
    Jan

    Reply
  2. So fun! I love reading older novels because you get such a feel for the times.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Another Helpful Harry Hint – « Anita K Greene

Leave a Reply

