RSS Feed

Encouragement for Times Like These…

The world is a scary place. So much happening that’s beyond my control. Our country’s debt. Numerous wars. Natural disasters. Even the places that have always been considered safe are not, as evidenced by the murder this past week of the young boy in NYC.

In these days of bad news and turmoil, I find myself turning more often to The Psalms for comfort and encouragement. Here is my Life Application Bible’s description of  the book of Psalms: ‘This great collection of songs and prayers expresses the heart and soul of humanity.” That’s why I love the Psalms. They not only give voice to my moments of celebration when I rejoice and praise God for all He has done for me, but they also help me express my doubts and fears. The Psalms offer comfort and reassurance that no matter what is happening around me, God the Creator is still in control. He has not forgotten me.

Psalm 9:9 – The Lord is a refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble.  Those who know Your name will trust in You, for You, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek You

Psalm 32:7 – You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.

Psalm 34:4 – I sought the Lord, and He answered me; He delivered me from all my fears.

Psalm 46:1-2a – God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear…

Psalm 54:4 – Surely God is my help; the Lord is the One who sustains me.

Psalm 55:22 – Cast your cares on the Lord and He will sustain you; He will never let the righteous fall.

May your week be blessed as you rest in the knowledge that God loves you.

About anitakgreene

I write romantic adventure for the inspirational market. I enjoy needlework, papercrafting and gardening. I'm at home in the Ocean State with my husband, son and a spoiled Belgian Malinois.

Leave a Reply

