RSS Feed

Pillows From A Vintage Quilt


The cloth is fragile and the colors muddy with age. The squares are machine stitched but the quilting is done by hand. The quilt stitches vary in length, some long – toenail catchers – and some short. The lines of stitching aren’t straight.

To make these little pillows, I salvaged squares from a stained and worn vintage quilt. I can’t help but wonder about the person who created it. Was she a young girl just learning to quilt or an older woman with an unsteady hand? Did she sew in the evenings after her work was done? Did she have a dress made from the gold fabric? Was it even a woman who made the quilt? So many questions. I wish the quilt could talk.

I added the vintage buttons and a small hand crocheted doily ‘medallion’.

About anitakgreene

I write romantic adventure for the inspirational market. I enjoy needlework, papercrafting and gardening. I'm at home in the Ocean State with my husband, son and a spoiled Belgian Malinois.

2 responses »

  1. Betty Jean Page

    I wish that I had some of Grandma “D’s” buttons to share with you. You are so talented Nita… If I ever can give up an old “crazy quilt” that I have been hanging onto for years… I know where it will have a good home… luv ya! BJ

    Reply
    • Ooooh, that would be wonderful! Do you remember the little giraffe in Gramma’s sewing tin? You pull the tail and it’s a measuring tape. I have that and a few other things from her sewing tin. xo

      Reply

Leave a Reply

