RSS Feed

The County Fair

Over the weekend, I went to The Washington County Fair. We had beautiful weather to wander through the agriculture and craft exhibits, and to shop the vendor booths. The antique tractors were on display. Some would be used later in the fair for the tractor pull. One tractor was the same age as me. Does that make me an antique? I like that better than being ‘old’.
I enjoyed clam cakes and a bowl of clam chowder. Saw the deep fried Oreo cookies go by and decided I could pass on them. Listened to a local band at the small stage then stopped and watched the ox pull for a while. It was early in the evening, so the lighter weight teams were still pulling.

Part of the fun at an event like this is the people-watching. Tots ‘washing’ dish towels on an old washboard and hanging them to dry on a clothesline strung a foot off the ground. The three old (antiques like me) men sitting round the bathroom tip bucket, trading stories. The little boy sitting in a kiddie pool filled with dry corn, playing with a sand pail and shovel. The Boy Scouts looking sharp in their uniforms and selling kettle corn. (Cooking that stuff is a dangerous job!) The elderly Mennonite couple discussing at length a beautiful quilt in the craft exhibit.

Then it was on to the barns to see the animals. Watch where you step!

 

About anitakgreene

I write romantic adventure for the inspirational market. I enjoy needlework, papercrafting and gardening. I'm at home in the Ocean State with my husband, son and a spoiled Belgian Malinois.

Leave a Reply

