RSS Feed

Welcoming Fall

The start of school. Cooler nights. The first orange/gold maple leaf, a harbinger of fall resting on the green grass of summer.

For me, September feels more like of a new beginning than New Year’s Day. The change of season. A new routine. There’s an excitement in the air that isn’t present in the cold, dark days of January. Orange pumpkins, yellow sunflowers, red apples and the gold, yellow, red and orange of the trees. The explosion of color that accompanies Autumn in New England makes this my favorite time of year. Soon I’ll put away the summer weight dresses and capri pants. A nip in the air will make me bring out the sweaters and knit hats.

All summer I’ve enjoyed fresh salads, watermelon and grilling on the deck. But I’m ready to switch to heartier meals. This past weekend, we enjoyed a green bean casserole. The warmth from the oven felt wonderful as I worked around the kitchen on a rainy afternoon.

How do you welcome the change of season?

About anitakgreene

I write romantic adventure for the inspirational market. I enjoy needlework, papercrafting and gardening. I'm at home in the Ocean State with my husband, son and a spoiled Belgian Malinois.

Leave a Reply

