RSS Feed

The Sky is Falling!

I subscribe to Seth Godin’s blog and this post arrived in my in-box last week. He touched on the prevalence in mass media to amplify fear.

With the continual hawking of impending danger and risk, watching the news on television makes me anxious.

The always-urgent, life-is-hazardous coverage presents news in a way that makes the story personal to every person listening. So even though I’m not the one experiencing the horrific event, I feel the threat lurking close by.

Worry is fear pretending to be of use. C. Winsor

I’m listening less and less to the national news, trying to be neither the oblivious ostrich or a fearful Henny Penny. It’s hard to master the balance. Especially when people are hurting and in need of prayer.

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10

About anitakgreene

I write romantic adventure for the inspirational market. I enjoy needlework, papercrafting and gardening. I'm at home in the Ocean State with my husband, son and a spoiled Belgian Malinois.

4 responses »

  1. Thanks, Nita – God is in control & these worrisome things were never in His plan, until human nature thought we knew better! Taking our eyes off the world and on our God is the only peace in this life ~ then we can pray without interruption!

    Reply
  2. Hi Nita! Thanks for your little reminder!! I have noticed a lot of people ‘yelling’ this weekend, i.e. yelling into their cell phones, yelling at their kids in the grocery store, yelling at waitresses, yelling, yelling, yelling. I think people are really ‘overstressed’ right now, especially since the tragedy in Aurora, CO. I think we all need to take a deep breath, and read and re-read things like your blog that interject a little sanity into the national discourse. Thanks!!! Love, Linda

    Reply
    • The tension really does show, doesn’t it? It’s like ‘group think’ which isn’t good because we miss the Holy Spirit’s still small voice in all the noise. His voice is where the wisdom lies. Thank you, LInda for commenting!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

