RSS Feed

In Need Of An Attitude Adjustment

For the past several weeks my prayers have been those of a whiny child. I want what I want, and I want it now. If I were God (and aren’t we all glad I’m not?), I’d turn a deaf ear on myself. Which is why it makes me crazy when He’s so quiet. I picture Him with His fingers in His heavenly ears singing the ‘la-la -a-I-can’t-hear-you’ song. Thankfully, He’s more gracious than that.

Seriously? I’m sick of me! I’ve been needy and wanting, always looking at what I don’t have instead of being thankful for what I do have. Always wishing God would work out His plan for me  on my schedule and not in His perfect time. Constantly asking, “Am I there yet?” “When?” “Why?” “Why?” “Why?”

I dug out my gratitude journal. (Yes, it got buried… again. Boo, me.) For the next few days, one day at a time, I’m going to concentrate on praise, thanksgiving and intercession for others. Wonder how many minutes I’ll manage to do this before I stray into the Land of Me and have to get back on course? Apricot Sunset  Attitude Adjustment

Praise the Lord. Praise the Lord, O my soul.
I will praise the Lord all my life;
I will sing praise to my God as long as I live.
Psalm 146: 1-2

About anitakgreene

I write romantic adventure for the inspirational market. I enjoy needlework, papercrafting and gardening. I'm at home in the Ocean State with my husband, son and a spoiled Belgian Malinois.

10 responses »

  1. I think all of us spend too much time in me land and not enough in the land of grace and gratitude. Your blog is a reminder to me to get out of my own way and to rely and trust a God who loves me. Thanks for the reminder!

    Reply
  2. Thank you Anita for this reminder. As I have spent the last few weeks on crutches, I am thankful it is only temporary. It gives me a better understanding of just how little you can do with two crutches in hand. Some people struggle daily with much more than that…. Thanks for our chat the other night!

    Reply
    • Kathy, I know the medical community and insurance moves people right along, but you seem to be healing quickly! You’ll be without those crutches and dancing in no time.

      Reply
  3. Anita, you are the least needy, greedy gal I know! Sometimes we are way to hard on ourselves too and I like to think that God knows that and doesn’t mind too much as long as we get over it and move on! But you also reminded me, I have neglected my Gratitude journal as well… it’s never to late to start fresh with good intentions!

    Reply
  4. janet jones bann

    Very nice post, Anita, although the person you describe doesn’t sound much like the woman I know. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Ouch! You got me where it hurts. 😦 Been feelin’ kinda sorry for myself lately, too, so thanks, I needed this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

