RSS Feed

The Sweet Taste of Summer

Sweet Basil

On Saturday, I planted my sweet basil in containers on the deck. The plants are tiny and tender, but it won’t be long before I have plenty for salads and pesto.

With an abundance of fresh tomatoes and cucumbers in supermarkets and at farm stands, the following recipe is one of my favorite summer salads. It’s super easy. I toss it together to taste, so have estimated the quantities here. Enjoy.

Tomato Salad

4 Roma tomatoes diced
1 small cucumber – peeled, quartered lengthwise, and chopped
1/2 of small red onion – sliced in thin rings
1/4 cup sweet basil, cut in thin strips
3 Tablespoons olive oil
3 Tablespoons red wine vinegar

Toss everything together and chill for 30 minutes before serving.

To make this a main dish, add chunks of fresh mozzarella cheese.

For more of a Greek flavor, add feta cheese and black olives. Replace the red wine vinegar with balsamic vinegar.

About anitakgreene

I write romantic adventure for the inspirational market. I enjoy needlework, papercrafting and gardening. I'm at home in the Ocean State with my husband, son and a spoiled Belgian Malinois.

4 responses »

  1. This looks delicious! I’ll have to try it. I can grow green basil, but nor purple- have you ever tried to grow purple basil??
    Alica

    Reply
    • Hi Alica –
      I’ve never tried the purple basil. Does it have a different flavor? I considered trying Thai basil, but I didn’t think it smelled as strong or as sweet.
      Thank you for stopping by.
      Anita

      Reply
  2. yum!! I’m buying another basil plant … this and an ear of corn and I’m good!!
    Jan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

